Why You Need a Mission not a Goal.

Several months ago I read the book Chop Wood, Carry Water by Joshua Medcalf. I highly recommend this book to everyone of all ages.

One of my favorite take aways was the idea that you should have a mission as opposed to a goal. Anyone can talk you out of a goal. Goals change depending on your age, surroundings, career and circumstances. Missions are timeless and are a constant no matter what life throws your way.

I sat down and put a lot of thought into my mission. I’m a very goal-oriented person, but I realized that chasing down goal after goal is exhausting. 

Once I realized and bought into my own mission, I started seeing my approach to everything change. My attitude changed. My words changed. My thoughts changed.

My mission is to empower others. 

That mission doesn’t change. I can be 40 or 80 and still empower others. I can be with a large group of women and empower them. I can be an educator and empower students and teachers. When I’m with administrators my mission is to empower them. When I’m speaking about #edtech my mission is to empower with tiny bits of knowledge. My circumstances can change tomorrow, but my mission will always be the same.

What is your mission?

Empowering Educators Everywhere,

Tisha (@txtechchick)

 

 

Leave a comment